How to clear FRM part 2 exam? - Discussion - SvipBook-CFA FRM AICPA SAS Finance Study Material
Back Forum New

How to clear FRM part 2 exam?

I have passed the FRM part 2 recently, and now I am a certifed FRM. Given the fact that I learned a lot from other members in FRM Vietnam group, now it is time for me to give back to the society. This note will focus mainly on Part 2.

My background: working for Big 4 Audit for 2.5 years, 1 year in Internal Audit – Risk team for a bank. My results for 2016 November Part 2 FRM: 1, 2, 1, 1, 1 . I studied by myself for both parts.

1. Amount of time you need to prepare: 2-5 months

The amount of time will depend greatly on how conversant you are with risk and Basel and how much time you can spend each day. It took me 3-4 months due to the fact that I majored in Auditing and did not have solid background in risk. Working in risk industry can reduce subtantially time and effort, though I strongly recommend at least 2 months. Do not underestimate the difficulty of the test.

2. Study Materials

a) Schewser Note:

For Part I, I only used Schweser Note. Needless to say, I was quite shocked by the lengthy and tricky questions during the exam. In my opinion, Schewser is useful in summarizing key ideas and good for warm-up reading, but it lacks the details needed to ace the test. For this reason, I suggest using this note for first time, warm-up reading.

Questions at the end of each chapter are shallow and much easier than actual-test one. That said, you can still take advantage of these question sets by mixed-up strategy I will mention below.

Schewser quick sheet is worth reading a couple of days before the test for revising purpose.

b) Bionic Turtle:

I strongly recommend using Bionic Turtle for those who wish to pass the test with flying colour. There are several points that make Bionic Turtle stand out, including: